jump to navigation

Applying to CBYX February 10, 2009

Posted by austinabroad in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

So, I am not real sure why or how I want to start this. Although I think I am aiming for something along the lines of my experience applying to the Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange with ASSE.

First off, what is the Congress Bundestag Youth Exchange?

The Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange is a federally funded exchange program, sponsored jointly by the United States Congress and the German Parliament- The Bundestag.

CBYX provides German and American young people a full scholarship for an academic year experience in the host country. The program is designed to strengthen ties between the younger generation, and by improving their career skills through formal study and work experience participants expand their perspectives and awareness of each other’s culture, society, history and politics.

More than 17,000 American and German students have participated in the program since its inception in 1983.

Second, what are the requirements to apply?

To apply for CBYX you must have a 3.0 on a 4.0 GPA Scale. You must also be inclusively between the ages of 15 and 18. One big thing to point out here is that prior knowledge of German is NOT a requirement. These are all the requirements.

Third, how do I apply?

Before I get too far into this I better explain some more about the CBYX. Like I mentioned the CBYX is federally sponsored, but it is not conducted by the feds. The funds allocated for the CBYX go to 5 organizations. Which organization you apply to is determined by your location in the US. More about those organizations can be found here usagermanyscholarship.org. I had planned for this to be a long great article about my application process, but I got quickly bored while writing it. That being so,  Any questions just ask!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment